HLA Management Logo

Marg Horwell

Marg Horwell

Theatre Designer

Marg is a multi-award winning theatre designer, installation artist and photographer with a Bachelor of Creative Arts from the University of Melbourne.

In 2018 Marg Designed costumes for Kip Williams’ THE RESISTIBLE RISE OF ARTURO UI at Sydney Theatre Company, designed set and costumes on HOW TO RULE THE WORLD at Sydney Theatre Company, MELANCHOLIA and BLASTED (Malthouse), LORELEI (Victorian Opera) and SALOME at the English National Opera.

In 2017 Marg was the Designer in Residence at Malthouse Theatre, where she designed REVOLT. SHE SAID. REVOLT AGAINTHE TESTAMENT OF MARY and THE REAL AND IMAGINED HISTORY OF THE ELEPHANT MAN.  

In 2016 Marg designed set and costumes for LILITH THE JUNGLE GIRL (Melbourne Theatre Company), EDWARD II (Malthouse Theatre) and PEDDLING (Melbourne Theatre Company).

Marg has also designed set and costumes for THE GOOD PERSON OF SZECHUAN (Malthouse Theatre/ The National Theatre of China), CONSTELLATIONS (Melbourne Theatre Company), MARLIN (Arena Theatre/Melbourne Theatre Company), BIRDLAND, I CALL MY BROTHERS (Melbourne Theatre Company), I AM A MIRACLE (Malthouse), and LA TRAVIATA (Belvoir)Marg was nominated for Best Stage Design of a Mainstage Production at the Sydney Theatre Awards for SHIT (Melbourne Theatre Company).

Marg has been recognised for her outstanding work with two Sydney Theatre Awards for Best Set and Costume Design for SUMMERTIME IN THE GARDEN OF EDEN, eight Greenroom Awards for her designs on productions LILITH THE JUNGLE GIRL, ANIMAL, SHITI AM A MIRACLESAVAGES, CHAPTERS FROM THE PANDEMIC, WRETCH and TEST PATTERN.

Marg was also nominated for Best Scenic Design for the 2015 Helpmann Awards for MARLIN and the 2015 Sydney Theatre Awards for LA TRAVIATA.

Stephen Abbott
Romina Accurso
Alice Addison
Jada Alberts
David Allen
Gillian Armstrong 1
Jessica Arthur
Natalie Bailey
Richard Barrett HLA
Tristram Baumber
Annie Beauchamp
Nicholas Beauman HLA
Anya Beyersdorf
Wayne Blair
Ron Blair HLA
Andrew Bovell
Jenny Brockie
James Browne
Tim Bullock HLA
Carolyn Burns
Geoff Burton HLA
Nina Buxton
Jane Campion