HLA Management Logo

John Curran

John Curran

Film Director

John Curran is a writer/director based in the US but has a long relationship with Australia: In 1986 he moved to Sydney, where he set up a production company with five other filmmakers and began directing music videos, commercials and short films.

In 1998 John directed PRAISE, based on Andrew McGahan’s novel, winning the International Critic’s prize at the Toronto International Film Festival, and was selected for Sundance and Berlin Film Festivals. John was nominated for Best Director at the AFI Awards and received the award for Best Independent Filmmaker at the inaugural Independent Filmmaker Awards in Sydney.

Returning to the US, in 2004 John premiered his film WE DON’T LIVE HERE ANYMORE, starring Naomi Watts, Laura Dern, Peter Krause and Mark Ruffalo at the Sundance Film Festival.

In 2006 John directed THE PAINTED VEIL, starring Edward Norton and Naomi Watts. The film was shot in China and received rave reviews worldwide. John’s next film STONE premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival and starred Robert De Niro and Edward Norton. Following on from this John wrote the screenplay based on the novel by the same name THE KILLER INSIDE ME directed by Michael Winterbottom, starring Casey Affleck, Kate Hudson and Jessica Alba.


John returned to Australia to direct the feature TRACKS, with producer Emile Sherman from See Saw Pictures, which premiered at the Venice and Telluride Film Festivals and was released worldwide in 2014.

John’s latest film was CHAPPAQUIDDICK, which tells the story of Ted Kennedy’s involvement in the fatal 1969 car accident that claims the life of a young campaign strategist, Mary Jo Kopechne, premiering at the Toronto International Film Festival.

In 2018 John returned to Australia to set up and direct the TV series BLOOM for Sony Pictures Television/STAN/Playmaker Media.

In 2020 John was set up director on the TV series EDEN for Every Cloud Productions and STAN. In 2022 John directed the film MERCY ROAD for Arclight Films, which will be released in 2023.

Stephen Abbott
Romina Accurso
Alice Addison
Jada Alberts
David Allen
Gillian Armstrong 1
Jessica Arthur
Natalie Bailey
Richard Barrett HLA
Tristram Baumber
Annie Beauchamp
Nicholas Beauman HLA
Anya Beyersdorf
Wayne Blair
Ron Blair HLA
Andrew Bovell
Jenny Brockie
James Browne
Tim B website headshot
Carolyn Burns
Geoff Burton HLA
Nina Buxton
Jane Campion
HLA Client Image (1)