Ian writes for both film and television. He graduated from the Australian Film Television and Radio School in 1984.

He writes for both film and television.

Ian won AFI Awards in 1989 and 1990 respectively for Best Mini-Series/Telemovie and Best Screenplay for a Mini Series/Telemovie for POLICE STATE AND POLICE CROP, both for the ABC. Also for the ABC he went on to write JOH’S JURY (1992) and BLUE MURDER (1995) which received the  Logie Award for Most Outstanding Television Drama, AWGIE Award for Best Television Screenplay, AFI Award for Best Screenplay, NSW Premier’ Literary Award for Best Screenplay and AFI Award for Best Television Drama.

Ian’s other television credits include BAD COP, BAD COP  (2002) a comedy series he created for the ABC, the mini-series adaptation of  Robert Drewe memoir, THE SHARK NET (2003) for the ABC,  THE SADDLE CLUB (2007), his original telemovie, THREE ACTS OF MURDER (2009) for the ABC, and KILLING TIME ( 2011) for TV1.

Ian received the AFI’s Byron Kennedy Award in 2001 and a Centennial Medal from the Commonwealth of Australia in 2003 for services to Australian society and film.  In 2003 Ian represented Australian artists at UNESCO headquarters in Paris, with an address on cultural diversity.  Ian was named as the inaugural Kit Denton Fellow at the 2007 AWGIE Awards.

He is a past president of the Australian Writers Guild (1999 – 2003) and in 2011 was awarded the Richard Lane Award at the AWGIE (Australian Writer’s Guild Awards) for his outstanding contribution to The Guild.

Ian is a member of the Council of Patrons of the Arts Law Centre of Australia.

<< Back to Client Categories