HLA Management Logo

Andrew Commis ACS

Andy Commis Headshot 2024

Director of Photgraphy

Andrew’s extensive career includes feature films, shorts, television drama and documentaries, with his films having premiered at Cannes, Venice, Berlin, Tribeca and Toronto amongst others, and he has been awarded multiple times including winning the Milli Award, the highest accolade presented by the Australian Cinematographers Society.

Andrew’s recent feature film credits include the yet to be released debut feature film from Charles Williams, INSIDE starring Guy Pearce produced by Marian Macgowan and Kate Glover; the second instalment of Jane Harper’s Aaron Falk novels, FORCE OF NATURE, adapted and directed Rob Connolly for Made Up Stories, along with
BLUEBACK adapted from Tim Winton’s novel of the same name written, directed and produced by Robert Connolly, James Grandison and Liz Kearney.

Andrew’s previous feature films include, NUDE TUESDAY directed by Armagan Ballantyne, the highly acclaimed and awarded BABYTEETH directed by Shannon Murphy and starring Ben Mendelsohn, Essie Davis and Eliza Scanlen; HIGH GROUND from director Stephen Johnson, which tells the story of Indigenous resistance in the early 1900’s in Arnhem Land in the Northern Territory which earnt Andrew a win for best cinematography Film Critics Circle of Australia Awards and an AACTA nomination for best cinematography in 2021; ANGEL OF MINE directed by Kim Farrant; the tele-feature LOVE for the BBC, directed by Alexander Zeldin resident director of the National Theatre in London and based on his play of the same name. As well as four short films in the anthology series DO NOT DISTURB, selected in competition at Cannes Series 2019 the films were directed respectively by Dylan Southern & Will Lovelace (aka 32), Matthew Huston, Jake Chapman and Zoe Cassavetes; THE DAUGHTER directed by Simon Stone which was selected for the 2015 Venice and Toronto Film Festivals. GIRL ASLEEP, directed by Rosemary Myers, selected for the 2016 Berlin Film Festival and winner of the 2016 Australian Film Critics Award and THE REHEARSAL for director Alison Maclean based on Booker Prize winning author Eleanor Catton’s debut novel and selected for the 2016 New York and London Film Festivals; and THE ROCKET directed by Kim Mordaunt, winner of the Crystal Bear at the 2013 Berlin Film Festival and Best Feature Film at the 2013 Tribeca Film Festival. The Rocket also won Best Feature Film at the 2014 Film Critics Circle of Australia (FCCA) Awards and was nominated for 12 Australian Academy of Cinema & Television Arts (AACTA) Awards including Best Film and Best Cinematography.

Andrew’s debut feature film BEAUTIFUL KATE directed by Rachel Ward, premiered at Toronto in 2010 and received the prestigious Milli Award from the ACS for Cinematographer of the Year. The film received 10 Australian Film Institute [AFI] Awards nominations including Best Film and Best Cinematography and also won the 2009 Inside Film (IF) award for Best Cinematography. Andrew also shot two chapters of the screen adaptation of Tim Winton’s book of short stories THE TURNING, Justin Kurzel’s BONER McPHARLIN’S MOLL and David Wenham’s directing debut COMMISSION, starring Hugo Weaving. Premiering at the 2013 Melbourne International Film Festival and officially selected for the 2014 Berlin Film Festival, THE TURNING also received Best Feature Film nominations at the 2014 AACTA and 2013 Asia Pacific Screen Awards.


Stephen Abbott
Romina Accurso
Alice Addison
Jada Alberts
David Allen
Gillian Armstrong 1
Jessica Arthur
Natalie Bailey
Richard Barrett HLA
Tristram Baumber
Annie Beauchamp
Nicholas Beauman HLA
Anya Beyersdorf
Wayne Blair
Ron Blair HLA
Andrew Bovell
Jenny Brockie
James Browne
Tim B website headshot
Carolyn Burns
Geoff Burton HLA
Nina Buxton
Jane Campion
HLA Client Image (1)