HLA Management Logo

Stevie Cruz-Martin

Stevie Cruz Martin

Film & Television Director

Stevie Cruz-Martin is an award-winning film and television director. Performance, collaboration, and the human condition is what drives her work. Her experience with acting and her fascination with the process, allows her to understand the level of authenticity, talent and courage needed in front of the camera.

Stevie directed the SBS online series THE TAILINGS, shot on location in lutruwita/Tasmania which won the 2021 AACTA for Best Online Series. She was also nominated for an Australian Directors Guild Award for her work on the series which now streams on platforms internationally.

SAFE HOME, a 4 x 1 hour drama series from creator Anna Barnes and produced by Kindling Pictures for SBS and Banijay, marked Stevie’s first foray into long form television, directing all 4 episodes. The series stars Aisha Dee and premiered in May 2023.  SAFE HOME received 4 awards at the 2023 National Asian Academy Creative Awards – Winner Best Drama Series, Best Direction and Best Lead Actress for Aisha Dee. Stevie received an Australian Directors Guild Award nomination for best mini-series in 2023.

For Easy Tiger and Warner Bros Australia, Stevie has set up the entirely new second series of THE TWELVE, directing episodes 1 & 2. Season two was filmed in Western Australia for Foxtel starring Sam Neill and Frances O’Connor with production funding from ScreenWest.

In 2017 her directorial debut feature film, PULSE was the first Australian film to ever win the prestigious Busan Bank Award at the Busan Film Festival in South Korea. Pulse was nominated for an AACTA award in 2018 and has since played at festivals around the world including Sydney Film Festival, BFI London, Melbourne Queer Film Festival and ScreenWave International Film Festival. SBS honoured the film as one of the “12 Best Queer Films of 2017”.

Stephen Abbott
Romina Accurso
Alice Addison
Jada Alberts
David Allen
Gillian Armstrong 1
Jessica Arthur
Natalie Bailey
Richard Barrett HLA
Tristram Baumber
Annie Beauchamp
Nicholas Beauman HLA
Anya Beyersdorf
Wayne Blair
Ron Blair HLA
Andrew Bovell
Jenny Brockie
James Browne
Tim B website headshot
Carolyn Burns
Geoff Burton HLA
Nina Buxton
Jane Campion
HLA Client Image (1)