HLA Management Logo

Morgan Moroney

Morgan Moroney

Lighting Designer

Morgan Moroney (he/him) is a lighting and video designer working across theatre, opera, dance and installation. Growing up on Kaurna land, he currently lives and works primarily on Gadigal land. He brings a distinct multidisciplinary approach to his practice, with a particular fascination for integrated-media live performance.

A graduate of NIDA, Morgan received the 2020 APDG Emerging Designer for Live Performance Award for his design on Ghosts directed by Priscilla Jackman (NIDA). He has been nominated three times for a Sydney Theatre Award in Best Independent Lighting Design, and won the 2023 APDG Award in Lighting Design for CLEANSED (Redline Productions).

Morgan’s work as Lighting Designer includes SAPLINGS (ATYP), SHITTY (Belvoir 25A) INFERNO (Australian Brandenburg Orchestra), GIRLS IN BOYS CARS (NTofP) Suddenly Last Summer and Clyde’s (Ensemble), The Barber of Seville (Opera Australia National Tour), SHACK (ATYP), Significant Other (New Theatre) and ANATOMY OF A SUICIDE (Sugary Rum Productions). His video design work includes A Letter for Molly and Still Unqualified (Ensemble).

Morgan’s recent collaborations as Lighting and Video Designer include: COLLAPSIBLE, which he co-directed and won the 2023 Sydney Theatre Awards Best Lighting Design of an Independent Production, CAMP (Siren Theatre & WorldPride) and A Practical Guide to Self-Defence (Merrigong & NTofP).

In March 2022, Morgan worked with Nick Schlieper as Assistant Lighting Designer for The Phantom of the Opera on Sydney Harbour (Opera Australia). Morgan was also awarded the inaugural NIDA X Storytelling Futures grant. His upcoming productions for 2024 include NAYIKA: A DANCING GIRL (Belvoir), THE QUEEN’S NANNY (Ensemble) and THE TURN OF THE SCREW (Hayes Theatre).

Stephen Abbott
Romina Accurso
Alice Addison
Jada Alberts
David Allen
Gillian Armstrong 1
Jessica Arthur
Natalie Bailey
Richard Barrett HLA
Tristram Baumber
Annie Beauchamp
Nicholas Beauman HLA
Anya Beyersdorf
Wayne Blair
Ron Blair HLA
Andrew Bovell
Jenny Brockie
James Browne
Tim B website headshot
Carolyn Burns
Geoff Burton HLA
Nina Buxton
Jane Campion
HLA Client Image (1)