HLA Management Logo

Melinda Doring

Melinda Doring

Film/Television Designer

Melinda Doring is an award-winning production designer, who has had a prolific career designing a number of highly regarded Australian feature films and television series since graduating with an MA in Film & TV Design from the Australian Film, Television and Radio School in 1998.

Melinda’s most recent project is designing the television series THE LOST FLOWERS OF ALICE HART, adapted from Holly Ringland’s book of the same name and directed by Glendyn Ivin for Made Up Stories and Amazon. Her other recent television credits include THE NEWSREADER, directed by Emma Freeman and produced by Werner Film Productions, winning 2021 AACTA Award for Production Design, and STATELESS, produced by Dirty Films and Matchbox Productions for ABC, for which Melinda won the 2020 AACTA Award for Best Production Design in Television and the 2021 APDG Awards for Best Production Design.

Earlier television credits include WAKE IN FRIGHT, Network Ten’s two-part mini-series directed by Kriv Stenders and produced by Helen Bowden, and THE SLAP, based on Christos Tsiolskas novel which gave her the opportunity to work with some incredible directors including Robert Connolly, Tony Ayers, Jessica Hobbs and Matt Saville.

Melinda’s recent feature film credits include PALM BEACH, directed by Rachel Ward; STORM BOY, a remake of 1976 Australian classic, directed by Shawn Seet and STRANGERLAND, directed by Kim Farrant.

In 2017 Melinda designed BERLIN SYNDROME, directed by longtime collaborator, Cate Shortland, for which Melinda received a nomination for Best Production Design AACTA Awards 2017. She previously designed Shortland’s critically acclaimed film SOMERSAULT, for which Melinda won an AFI in 2004 for Best Production Design, in addition to the film being selected for Un Certain Regard, Cannes 2004.

Melinda designed Wayne Blair’s 2012 film, THE SAPPHIRES, which received a standing ovation at the 2012 Cannes Film Festival and for which Melinda was awarded an AACTA for Best Production Design. Other credits include TRACKS directed by John Curran, UNDERGROUND: THE JULIAN ASSANGE STORY, directed by Robert Connelly, ORANGES AND SUNSHINE directed by Jim Loach, THE BOYS ARE BACK, directed by Scott Hicks, UNFOLDING FLORENCE, a feature documentary directed by Gillian Armstrong, JEWBOY directed by Tony Krawitz,  THE EYE OF THE STORM, directed by Fred Schepisi, for which Melinda won the inaugural 2012 AACTA award and THE HOME SONG STORIES directed by longtime collaborator Tony Ayres, for which she won both an AFI award and an IF award for Best Production Design in 2007.

Stephen Abbott
Romina Accurso
Alice Addison
Jada Alberts
David Allen
Gillian Armstrong 1
Jessica Arthur
Natalie Bailey
Richard Barrett HLA
Tristram Baumber
Annie Beauchamp
Nicholas Beauman HLA
Anya Beyersdorf
Wayne Blair
Ron Blair HLA
Andrew Bovell
Jenny Brockie
James Browne
Tim Bullock HLA
Carolyn Burns
Geoff Burton HLA
Nina Buxton
Jane Campion