HLA Management Logo

Jed Kurzel

Jed Kurzel


Jed Kurzel is an award-winning composer and musician.

His feature film debut for the critically-acclaimed Australian movie SNOWTOWN was named Feature Film Score of the Year at Australia’s 2011 Screen Music Awards and he has since gone on to score feature films including: THE BABADOOK (Dir: Jennifer Kent), which William Friedkin, director of THE EXORCIST, described as the most “terrifying film” he had ever seen; SLOW WEST (Dir: John Maclean), which won Jed his second Australian Screen Music Award for Feature Film Score of the Year in 2015; MACBETH (Dir: Justin Kurzel), starring Michael Fassbender and Marion Cotillard, which premiered in competition at the 2015 Cannes Film Festival; UNA (Dir: Benedict Andrews), the film adaptation of David Harrower’s Oliver Award-winning play BLACKBIRD, starring Rooney Mara and Ben Mendelsohn; ASSASSIN’S CREED (Dir: Justin Kurzel); ALIEN: COVENANT (Dir: Ridley Scott); and JUPITER’S MOON (Dir: Kornél Mundruczó), nominated for the Palme d’Or at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival.

In 2019 Jed’s work was heard onscreen in TRUE HISTORY OF THE KELLY GANG (Dir: Justin Kurzel) starring Russell Crowe, Charlie Hunnam, Nick Hoult & George MacKay, which premiered in Gala Section Toronto International Film Festival; in MUSTANG, French director Laure de Clermont-Tonnerre’s feature debut, starring Matthias Schoenaerts, Bruce Dern and Connie Britton; and on SEBERG, (Dir: Benedict Andrews) starring Kristen Stewart, which premiered in competition at Toronto International Film Festival.

Before shifting his focus to composing, Jed was best known as the frontman and songwriter for Australian duo The Mess Hall. Their 2006 album DEVIL’S ELBOW was awarded the prestigious 2007 Australian Music Prize.

Stephen Abbott
Romina Accurso
Alice Addison
Jada Alberts
David Allen
Gillian Armstrong 1
Jessica Arthur
Natalie Bailey
Richard Barrett HLA
Tristram Baumber
Annie Beauchamp
Nicholas Beauman HLA
Anya Beyersdorf
Wayne Blair
Ron Blair HLA
Andrew Bovell
Jenny Brockie
James Browne
Tim B website headshot
Carolyn Burns
Geoff Burton HLA
Nina Buxton
Jane Campion
HLA Client Image (1)